02

02 Blogging assignment: After reading “The Discipline of Teams,” post response to these questions on your blog: “What kind of team member are you? What types of contributions can you make to a design research team?”

 I believed i have participated in various teams in many ocassions. After reading this article, i have to think more if i have to define wheather those were either group or the team. Looking back my group or team projects, i found myself in similar positions. Most of my team experiences, i was the one who try hard to clearfy the objectives.  when i was doing intern, I asked a lot to understand clearly  what i am doing , and finding out how i can contrubute to this organization better.

“why we are doing that?” or
“hey guys, so if we decide to do this, it will help toOO. right?” can be one of my lines in team works.

  In the article, he mentioned about complementary skills that fall into three categories;technical or fuctional expertise, problem solving and desicion making , and interpersonal skills. If i were to put myself in one of those, i would be one with problem solving and decision making skill. 
As i mentioned above i keep remind myself what is the purpose of this or whywe should do this. Sort of my way to keep motivaion or reasoning flow over my works. it permits to come up with see problem as why it is problem and what will help our upper goal. Also instinctly run when i see the problems.
Few years ago, I went to retreat with high school friends. While we were cooking with portable gas stove got fire. Many alramed and some ladies start crying , some ran away. Fire was not big yet which means we have to solve that now. I thought we should not miss the timing. I ran into room and brought blanket and told guy friends what to do, guys follwed me. We were fast and soon it was clear.
 
  Particulary in design research i think i can contribute as ‘crosspolinator’ or ‘storyteller’. I had this ideas from the book called ‘The ten faces of innovation(Thomas Kelley, Jonathan littman, 2005, Doubleday)’. After reading the book, I felt i suit well in crosspolinator with storyteller’s mindset.  I was in a team that was hosting a conference. We served lectures, workshops and food and other logistic servieces as well. First breakfast, poeple from different country complained about breakfast. Then i realize what they saying is not that they don’t like the food but they need OO kind of food. So i talked with my boss and rearranged the food. I listhen well and good at let tem keep talk. From that i can find what is the major point of one’s words including latent needs.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  || Blurb : Team grade encouraged collaboration in school  ||
  Thinking about team work bring me back to my elementary school days. i went school in korea, and back then all schools were trying to foster team building curriculem which created a lot of group works in class. They also team projects will develop collboration skills and creativity. The fact that strongly pushed this inclination were shown in how they score student. it was team score not individual score. If my team do well all four team members get nice grade, in other words eventhough i am smart if my team work struggling, he won’t get perfect score. some kids complain but it was clear that it is wise  to help each other within team if you want to qurantee good grade. Eventhough start was to get a good score, in that process we learned a lot on interpersonal skills and collaboration including solidarity. When author talked about performance, i recalled team score that my teacher gave to us.  
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

“A team is a small number of people with complementary skills who are committed to a common purpose, set of performance goals, and approach for which they hold themselves mutually accountable.” 
“Teams differ fundamentally from working groups because they require both individual and mutual accountability.”
 The Discipline of Teams, by Jon R. Katzenbach and Douglas K. Smith, Harvard Bussiness Review

Comments

