IxD theory 06

Have you experienced a technology that has disappeared? Describe the experience and what replaced the technology in the forefront?

I used to listen to music with my portable audio cassette players. Now when i want to listen to music on the go,I use my iPhone which is a cell phone that includes i pod feature. Now i rarely see portable audio cassette players
Looking back when we first got portable audio cassette players, it changed our music listening habits by allowing people to carry music with them and listen to music through headphones. It provided both mobility and somewhat auditory privacy no matter where I go. The concept of potable music players become more pervasive but now we use digital format to retrieve prerecorded sounds.
In order to use the cassette player I had to buy a tape. Buying a tape was a apart of whole experience of enjoying the player. Listening to the bought tape made me feel like i am owning the music in a way. I felt more private/closer about the music.
Along these lines, the device(audio cassette player) and the contents(the tape) was seperate and very dependant to each other.  By the late 1990s, companies stopped or reduced  manufacturing the cassette-based music player. Then music companies had discontinued making tape by late 2002 or 2003. If the music industry stop producing the tape, I couldn’t use the cassette player anymore.
The way I share the music with cassette was different than how I share music or article on Internet nowadays. Back then I shared the music but not simultaneously. I listen to the tape for a week and let my friend have it for a week. Today’s perspective it may look it’s very difficult to share. This difficulty in sharing tape music over the Internet revived the audio cassette format for independent record labels (“indie” labels) besides low cost.

The cassette-based music player was passed over in favor of the emerging digital technologies like CD, DAT(Digital Audio Tape ), and MP3. Using MP3 file base music player, I connect my music player to the computer and insert music file into the device. It enhanced the quality of the music and make it easier to change the contents. I didn’t have to go out to buy cassette tapes or CD. I was also amazed the fact that i was accessing other information of the song like title and lyrics.How can I see all these titles and artist lyrics while i didn’t asked for any of this.
Maybe it serves one step ahead than i first asked for. I just wanted to hear the sound but it also give me text, visual information that i may wonder while i hear the music.

* Between the early 1980s and the late 1990s, the cassette was one of the two most common formats for prerecorded music, first alongside the LP record. The Compact Cassette, also called audio cassette, cassette tape, cassette, or simply tape, is a magnetic tape sound recording format. It was designed originally for dictation, but improvements in fidelity led the Compact Cassette to be used for format for prerecorded music.

One thought on “IxD theory 06

Comments

